Alabama Writers Hall of FameThe Alabama Writers Hall of Fame was founded in 2014 through a partnership between the Alabama Center for the Book, housed in the University Libraries at The University of Alabama, and the Alabama Writers’ Forum, a statewide literary service nonprofit.  The  hall of fame honors the rich legacy of native Alabamians who earned their reputations in the literary arts.

The 2020 Alabama Writers Hall of Fame will be held March 9, 2020 at the Bryant Conference Center in Tuscaloosa.  For ticket information, contact Emily Burnett,

The 2020 class is represented by Mark ChildressFaye Gibbons, Carolyn Haines,  Honorée Fanonne Jeffers and Michael Knight.  Authors Ralph Ellison and Zelda Fitzgerald will be inducted posthumously.

Alabama Writers Hall of Fame 2018 Inductees

  • Joseph Glover Baldwin
  • William Bradford Huie
  • Shirley Ann Grau
  • Gay Talese
  • Wayne Greenhaw
  • Charles Gaines
  • James Haskins
  • Winston Groom


Alabama Writers Hall of Fame 2016 Inductees

  • E. O. Wilson
  • Fannie Flagg
  • Rodney Jones
  • Rebecca Gilman
  • Truman Capote
  • T.S. Stribling
  • Margaret Walker
  • Mary Ward Brown
  • Sequoyah

Alabama Writers Hall of Fame 2015 Inductee

  • Rick Bragg
  • Andrew Glaze
  • Johnson Jones Hooper
  • Zora Neale Hurston
  • Helen Keller
  • Harper Lee
  • William March
  • Albert Murray
  • Sena Jeter Naslund
  • Helen Norris Bell
  • Sonia Sanchez
  • Augusta Jane Evans Wilson