2022 Alabama Writers Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony Rescheduled for 2023

TUSCALOOSA, Ala.  — Eight distinguished authors will be inducted into the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame at The University of Alabama’s Bryant Conference Center on Friday, March 10th, 2023. Originally scheduled for June 6th, 2022, the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame Planning Committee decided that it would be in everyone’s best interest to reschedule the induction gala.

Michael Pearce, Director for the Alabama Center for the Book, noted in making the change, “We apologize for the inconvenience, but we are thinking of the health of our inductees and attendees, and the overall quality of the services we can provide.  We also want to ensure that the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame induction ceremony is a well-attended and meaningful evening for our inductees.”

The Alabama Center for the Book and the Alabama Writers’ Forum would like to congratulate the inductees. Members of the 2023 class include: Tom Franklin, Trudier Harris, Angela Johnson, Howell Raines, Michelle Richmond, and Daniel Wallace. Authors Eugene Walter and Kathryn Tucker Windham will be inducted posthumously. 2020 inductee Carolyn Haines is slated to serve as Master of Ceremonies. More information will be provided in the coming months.  

For press inquiries please contact please contact Jeanie Thompson, Executive Director of the Alabama Writers’ Forum, at jeaniethompson@writersforum.org  or Michael Pearce, Director of the Alabama Center for the Book, at pearc007@ua.edu .

Add Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *